Donna Cooks


Ode to Kelly’s Eastside, Cozy Texas Neighborhood Bar & Cafe
January 10, 2007, 1:33 am
Filed under: 15-Second Rave

I love Kelly’s Eastside in downtown Plano.

I love the casual neighborhood atmosphere. I love the patio seating with live acoustic music during fair weather. I love that it’s a good place to watch a game because it’s smaller and less noisy than a sports bar and the food is far better. I love the complimentary chips and salsa and quesadillas and discounted margaritas during happy hour. I love the consistency of the quality of service and food at Kelly’s. I love that there’s no sense of hurry when you go to Kelly’s, you’re just hanging out with your friends, having a beer, watching some sports, enjoying some conversation. I love that Kelly’s has lots of regulars, and I don’t mean for a workday lunch. I love that it’s Aggie-owned and all its Aggie-themed décor.

But most of all, I love Kelly’s chicken fried steak with sides of mashed potatoes topped with queso and green beans, all with Shiner on tap served in a frosted glass. It’s comfort food. It’s Texas food.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

