Donna Cooks


Comic and Punk Foodies
December 29, 2006, 10:29 pm
Filed under: 15-Second Rave

I like to cook, I like to eat, I like to write about food, but I don’t have a career in food.  I occasionally wonder whether I am even qualified to blog about recipes/restaurants in this world of self-professed foodies who may sneer at my amateurish observations and tastes. 

That’s why one of my favorite presents this Christmas comes from my great friend Lauren, I Like You: Hosplitality Under the Influence by Amy Sedaris.  She’s definitely no Martha Stewart with advice like “never have bumpy and lumpy on the same plate” and “don’t shop from someone else’s food cart,” but her simple entertaining advice is practical and the illustrated recipes are saliva-inducing.  I’m totally hooked.  Comedian + food enthusiast = a book I just can’t put down.  Sedaris is no professional chef but this is now one of the best “how to entertain” books I own.  Barefoot Contessa, watch out!  Although I do love my Barefood Contessa Parties! book, too.

Then this morning I heard an interview with Alex Kapranos, lead singer of the Scottish rock band Franz Ferdinand, on NPR, who has recently written a book about his food adventures around the world while touring.  Sound Bites captures his encounters with various types of cuisines across the globe, both good and bad, with a refreshing rock ‘n roll perspective.  I know what I’m adding to my reading list!

Thank you, non-professional food enthusiasts, for bringing some new angles to this flavorful world.  Now I can choose to think of my blog as fresh, not unrefined.  At least I can choose to think that 😉

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

