Donna Cooks


A Very PC Meal at Kozy Kitchen
December 5, 2006, 12:54 am
Filed under: DFW Restaurant Reviews

Kozy Kitchen’s theme is eco-conscious. All the food is either organic, wild, grass-fed, or free-range. It’s so politically correct that the vegetarians and carnivores can almost dine together harmoniously. I sampled Kozy’s fare with three others on a late Saturday morning, when both breakfast and lunch were offered.

Kozy Kitchen is located in a rather nondescript small shopping center in uptown. The exterior is nothing to get excited about, but the interior is warm with that modern coffee shop/cafe feel. In one corner of the restaurant is a comfy couch set with magazines and games. The other side of the restaurant is filled with chic colored booths and modern IKEA chairs that seat the patrons at eye level with paintings by local artists for sale hanging on the walls.

We started off with a couple of glasses of orange juice. No doubt, this was freshly squeezed, full of pulp, slightly tart, all-natural goodness. Then came the food. I only got to sample my own dish (buffalo mozzarella salad) but everyone was very pleased with their food.

Breakfast tacos: two organic blue corn tortillas with scrambled eggs, cheese, and venison sausage.

kozy-breakfast.JPG

Carribbean Queen: curried chicken salad on French bread with a side of Kozy salad.

kozy-queen.JPG

Buffalo tacos: grass-fed buffalo on blue corn tortillas with bacon blue cheese guacamole. I did steal a couple of bites of this guacamole and it was delicious!

kozy-tacos.JPG

And my lunch choice, buffalo mozzarella salad with grass-fed buffalo, sun-dried tomatoes, and fresh mozzarella over field greens with a balsamic dressing. I’m not a big salad fan normally, so saying a salad is good (and filling) is a huge compliment from me. My favorite part of this salad was the fresh chunks of mozzarella, chewy but soft with a mild flavor. Fresh mozzarella is my favorite sample at Central Market on my Sunday visits. The only complaint about this salad is there was perhaps too much buffalo, the ratio of meat to greens was high for a salad. Some people probably prefer their entree salads to be this way, but I’m not a fan of a salad that’s practically half meat.

kozy-salad.JPG

We also enjoyed some above-average raspberry swirl cheesecake for dessert.

Overall, I enjoyed my experience at Kozy Kitchen. All the food was very fresh tasting. I don’t see myself frequenting Kozy on a regular basis, however, primarily because I’m not strongly politically driven when it comes to food and I don’t live near uptown. But if you want the hippie-meets-urban chic, politically correct, local cafe full of regulars feel, Kozy might be the only place in town that fits the bill.

Rating: 3.5 / 5

The Kozy Kitchen
4433 McKinney Ave
Dallas, TX 75205

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

