Donna Cooks


Donna Does Low-Carb (Thai Steak Salad, Grilled Bok Choy, & Chocolate Covered Strawberry Sundae)
September 22, 2006, 11:29 pm
Filed under: Recipes

I am a carbohydraterian.  I love carbs.  But some days I really need to control the carb intake.  For example, today I had breakfast tacos with flour tortillas at breakfast and mashed potatoes and a biscuit at lunch.  So I had to do a reasonably low carb dinner (low carb for a carb lover).  Going along with this Asian fusion theme I seem to be stuck on lately, I prepared Thai steak salad with a ginger-soy dressing and grilled baby bok choy, served with a 2002 cabernet sauvignon from Jordan Winery in the Alexander Valley (it was a gift and if I had realized earlier that it was a $48 bottle, I probably would’ve saved it for more of a special occasion, oops).  It was robust and full-bodied, oaky but not overly so, as a good California cab should be.

steak-spread.jpg

This rendition of Thai steak salad is not traditional yum nua.  I actually based the process from a recipe in the October 2006 issue of Shape magazine.  Most of the ingredients in this meal can be found at your local grocery store, with the exception of baby bok choy (though available at some regular grocers).  Baby bok choy is readily available at Asian grocery stores.  If you’re not close to one, try a gourmet market (like Central Market).  And if you’re lucky enough to live in a H-E-B town, the produce section there usually has baby bok choy along with a huge selection of other gloriously fresh and colorful produce.  Oh how I miss you, H-E-B!  Please extend your chain to Dallas!

Grilled baby bok choy is just leaves of baby bok choy grilled over medium-high heat until the leaves are slightly wilted but the base part is still crunchy.  This tastes great with the ginger-soy dressing!

Thai Steak Salad

thai-steak.jpg

1 lb sirloin steak, trimmed of fat and sliced into 1/2 inch slices
1 tsp fresh grated gingerroot (powder will do as well)
3 cloves garlic, crushed (or 2 tbsp minced garlic)
3 dried red chiles, crushed (leave amount of seed desired based on level of preferred spiciness)
1 1/2 tbsp lime juice
cooking spray
3 cups mixed field greens (I had to do without spinach due to the recent scare, oh how I already miss my beloved spinach!)

Arrange mixed field greens in serving plate as bed for steak strips. 

In a large ziplock bag, combine steak strips with ginger, garlic, crushed red pepper, and lime juice.  Let marinate for 10 to 15 minutes.

Coat a grill pan with cooking spray, and heat to high.  Place sirloin slices in pan and grill for 45 seconds on each side for medium (slightly on the well side) doneness.  Vary the time based on your desired doneness.

Arrange sirloin slices over mixed field greens and serve with ginger-soy dressing.

Serves 2 

Ginger-Soy Dressing

1 tbsp red wine vinegar
1 tbsp full bodied red wine (preferably cabernet sauvignon, I actually used a ginger cabernet from Kiepersol Estates, again supporting my Texas wineries.  If you don’t want to use red wine, just use another 1/2 tbsp of red wine vinegar or 1 tbsp sherry)
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 1/2 tbsp water
1 tsp sesame oil
1/2 tbsp honey
1 tsp fresh grated gingerroot

Mixed together all ingredients in small bowl and enjoy!

Not to waste the lovely cabernet sauvignon, I also did a semi-sweet chocolate dessert, chocolate covered strawberry sundae.

strawberry-chocolate.jpg

The thick bitter sweet chocolate sauce was great with the full-bodied cab.  I honestly can’t tell you what proportions went into the chocolate sauce because it was an “adjust as you go” experiment.  The sauce is made from chunk semi-sweet chocolate, heavy whipping cream, and a tablespoon of sweet Marsala wine mixed together over low heat.  All served over a small scoop of vanilla ice cream.  A rich finish to an otherwise healthy meal!   

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Damn, Donna! That looks great! Next time I come visit you, can you cook that?!

Comment by Becku

I can’t believe I spelled my name wrong. :/

Comment by Becky

The thai steak salad looks especially delicious. I really can’t wait to try the recipe. Thank you for it.

Comment by Chocoholic

Becky, I’ll make you dinner any time 🙂

Comment by donnaaries




Leave a Reply

